Let's all be random, shall we?

Writer’s Tip One!


Greetings! Maya here! Yes, I shall now attempt to update religiously on here because of my failings to do so since summer vacation started, so I’m aiming for at least once, but hopefully twice a week on interesting stuff, and nothing like a 100 word ‘I have nothing interesting so I’ll just make it up as I go along’ post. Those things are totally useless and very annoying.

In any case, after this comment, I’ll be getting to my point, but, please excuse any roughness in speech or oddities in spelling because my iPod typing skills are not up to par and I’m prone to making mistakes (many, many mistakes)

Alright, since you saw what pisses me off the most in terms of writing, here’s a little tidbit on a common courtesy that most people should pay attention to. Writing numbers in any type of formal or published piece have a rule to when you write out the number as to just pressing the character on the keyboard.

Generally, one writes one to ten out in words, and should extend to at least twelve, but some go up to fifteen or twenty. However, things like thirty, fourty, fifty and such should be written, it makes the entire thing look better. (Well, at least in my experience)

There are exceptions too! See below for a slew of examples~

There is:

“Let’s all meet at training ground three okay?”

In contrast to:

The group headed towards training ground 3.

I don’t think it would look all that nice if the two were switched, right? It’s because technically the training ground is a proper noun, as it is the name given to the plot of land, but when used in a spoken sentence, to have it in a way thqt is not capitalized, I feel should abide by the rules.

Also:

100s of shards rained down upon the group, the glass cutting deep into their skin.

Compared to:

Hundreds of shards rained down upon the group, the glass cutting deep into their skin.

Since that one was obvious…

There are instances in which the form of the number will be refered to, such as:

She held up a black card, comepletely blank save for a blood red ‘5’ emblazend on the front.

&

She held up a black card, comepletely blank save for a blood red five emblazend on the front.

There’s exceptions for things like room numbers, times, counting down, and as said above, titles of things and probably more that my brain refuses to comprehend because I’m throughly sleep deprived, again. Yay me.

Well, I hope that this would help someone, bye!

~MayaYume

4 responses

  1. Haha, I see a kindred spirit. Thanks to small things, my reading horizon was, for lack of a word, crushed. There’s not really that many fanmade pieces that can stand up to my scrutiny anymore >_>

    August 2, 2011 at 8:49 pm

  2. I think in some cases the rules you made are switched. Like the second example you gave, I would prefer typing out 100. To me it just matters how it’s used in context. Like here I would use the physical number (these sentences are from my stories.) : “I was following my daily routine to a T, like I had been doing for nearly 5 years, when loud banging interrupted my breakfast.” while here I would use the number typed out : “But after a good ten minutes of the disruptive noise continuing without cease, I stomped over to the door and swung it open wide only to reveal my very annoying neighbor.”

    Anyway, very informative 🙂

    August 2, 2011 at 5:02 am

    • Yeah, it IS highly situational, but it’s just too many times that I see somebody never typing out the word form of whatever number they need to use. Completely destroys the entire thing when there are so many little details that had been ignored. *disappointed sigh*

      I mean, a lot of these things are head-bashingly simple…

      August 2, 2011 at 7:31 pm

      • I agree that once you get past 100, type out the physical number. I think multiples of ten should be typed out. But I definitely agree with you that some things make me want to bash my head into a desk when I see simple mistakes.

        August 2, 2011 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

