Let's all be random, shall we?

Rainbow CHALLENGE: Yellow


Yes, HERE IT IS! I’m posting these more than once a day because I want to get started on Kaleidoscope.

And speaking of Kaleidoscope, Yellow was the one that inspired me to do it. This installment was at first, hard to start as I had no idea what I wanted to do with it; then I got a brilliant idea, but couldn’t fit it into the short 100 words. Confusion is to be expected and will be made much clearer in CRK.

In two days (Tuesday), both Orange and Yellow will be making their way onto Aku’s blog. (Without most of the A/Ns)

The colours of a rainbow; from red to violet, they tell a seven coloured story.

Rainbow Challenge: Yellow

As if smiling, the brightness of the sun stared down at me. Puddles dotted the road, the path now slick with mud. I could feel my gaze slip, always, to the girl walking beside me, who, at the moment seemed to be fiddling with something she held between her hands. With a flash of yellow, she tucked something behind my ear, and rushed off with a smile. I slipped the object from within my hair, inspecting it in the palm of my hand.

As if smiling, the brightness of the bloom stared up at me, quietly strong, overtaking, conquering…

Unwanted.

Please refer to Red for background information.

~MayaYume

4 responses

  1. Did you change point of views? First point of view is difficult for me to write but this is written beautifully. I feel like I can connect better when I write in third. Anyway another great addition to the challenge ^.^

    August 22, 2011 at 6:22 pm

    • Yes; the Red is written from the girl’s pov, the second is third person, and this one is from the boy’s.

      Green is also going to be a first person, but the character is going to be unexpected (I hope) then it going to go back to the girl’s pov, and so on.

      First person was something that I did when I first started; bit found a bit too constricting; especially for the fantasy worlds I usually write for. I think that drama-romance would usually call for first person though (however, I am but a closet romantic ;D)

      August 22, 2011 at 8:46 pm

      • I’ve linked you to my blog now ^.^ I almost wrote Orange in first person but then I took an excerpt from my short story because it fit what I was going for perfectly. And I finally got it up to! I didn’t expect to post it but luckily I did. First person does seem to constricting because you can’t fully explore all the characters or be in the mindset of everyone.

        August 22, 2011 at 10:32 pm

      • Thanks so much 8)

        I see! Generally, I make an effort to segregate my new stories and currently established universes in my files. It would spiral out of control if I don’t xD

        Well, off I go to your post!

        August 22, 2011 at 10:55 pm

Leave a Reply

