Let's all be random, shall we?

Looks Like Pantene has a Bad Reputation…


But it’s also the most popular household product.

There has to be a reason for that. I’m writing this mostly because I really do like Pantene (especially the ice shine and smoothing products) and I don’t think that it deserves such bashings.

It’s almost insane how many things are being said about Pantene, and I’m going to list the most common ones.

It makes your hair fall out, it only makes you hair look good, it covers your hair in a layer of wax/plastic, hair does not look good after drying.

I claim all of that to be utter bullshit. I used Pantene for years, all of elementary school and grade seven. All the time, I got complements on how amazingly thick and healthy my hair was, as well as how soft and smooth it was. Obviously, the claims of having great results at first and then having clumps of hair fall out is false, as I can’t really say that seven years was still in the stage of ‘at first’. I mean, my hairdresser was complaining that I had too much hair (she was horrified that she had to cut all that the first time I gone to her, after not cutting my hair for years). Now, if my shampoo made hair fall out in clumps, I don’t think that would happen. When I told her what shampoo I used, she honestly told me that it wasn’t a bad brand; and that I should keep using it.

For a few months, I had switched to Dove because every time we gone shopping, I forget to buy shampoo, and had to go into that little cupboard in my bathroom and fished out a bottle of Dove and I’ve been shedding a bit more than usual, making my mother get angry at me for not vacuuming the floors properly. I’m not saying it’s because of the shampoo change, but I am saying that pantene does not leave your hair falling out in chunks.

Currently, I have 5 different brands at my disposal, just lying around the house; but I’ll be testing Nexxus, Sunsilk, Dove, Pantene, Head and Shoulders, Herbal Essences and any others that my friends use. Counting the hairs that have fallen out after a shower (with thorough brushing before, and seeing how much comes out then) the ease of brushing all the tangles out, and shine. I will be asking my friends for their opinion as well.

All of them contain around the same ingredients, with my pantene having a slightly harsher chemical (of course, I checked the one designed for thin hair, and found that it had a more gentle cleaning product)

I’m not biased, since I love my hair; I only seem biased from experience, as Pantene gave me great results the seven and a half years of continuous use.

By the way, if you have any suggestions on any other shampoos to test, tell me, and I’ll try to get it.

~MayaYume

EDIT: What’s your favorite brand? How is your view on Pantene?

EDIT 2: Okay, so, apparently, the hair loss and greasiness had more of an effect on people with long hair… I’ll say to that, utter bull. I’ve had long, almost waist length hair all the time and nothing has happened to me. It’s also startling that the newer lines are the ones causing trouble…

2 responses

  1. Lol I’ve been meaning to comment on this for the longest time. I’ve been using Pantene for a long time and I haven’t experienced hair loss either. My hair is about mid back length. I use Dove for a conditioner though and I must say it makes my hair very very soft compared to when I use Pantene as a conditioner.

    December 26, 2011 at 6:23 pm

    • Haha, I didn’t really know what to say when I saw all the hate for the brand, but… *pokes head* if what they say is true, I’d be bald…

      Wow, you keep your hair pretty long too! *Feels like hair buddies* I used to have hair that was down to my thighs, but when I got it caught in a tree when I was running around I had a moment of “screw this”.

      Dove conditioner sounds good to me! *runs to store*

      December 26, 2011 at 6:58 pm

Leave a Reply

