Let's all be random, shall we?

A Rotten Fairytale


I guess it’s another installment of Twisted Fairytale… It’s fun, and I have plenty of ideas xD

So, this one isn’t quite as dark :>

Raindrops kissed her cheecks as she spun in the rain. Happiness shone through her features as elation at the unbound freedom she felt released within her chest. It curled into a content ball deep in her soul, reveling in the feeling that all was good and well. Heavenly water smoothed over her inky hair, drifted over her brows and caught like liquid diamonds on her eyelashes.

Then her smile turned wry.

Salty beads bubbled from the corners of her eyes, joining the barrarge of sky tears that now beat down mercilessly, just like the heavy stares that peered through half open windows, disapproving eyes that followed her every twirl.

It felt as if her heart was chained to a tether and she had run too far, too fast. It jerked back violently, tossing her back into a cage of words; a cage that was built ever stronger, ever thicker, ever without an end. It was like the key has been offered to her once, to end this fractured fairytale, but delusions of unearned wisdom had slapped the hand and tossed it just out of reach.

Just a little bit further

Her arm clawed itself out from the bars.

stretch a little bit more

her fingers strained for the little more they could extend.

scootch just a little bit closer.

She wished and cried for the whim of the wind to blow her direction just once.

Out of reach; mocking her with its nearness, reminding her of the stupid idealism that she had wrapped herself in and blinded her to the cruel truth that wanted to swallow her whole.

Heroines don’t cry.

So the sky cried for her.

Tata!

~MayaYume

7 responses

  1. I wrote a story because I was inspired by this post ^.^ I actually meant to write it about the Child’s Song Challenge but it didn’t exactly work out. It took forever for me to name it though because it could have so many titles. I have this thing where I like all the stories on my blog to have a one word titles. It just makes them more cohesive. But this one ending up being four words because it just sounded better!

    October 16, 2011 at 4:16 pm

  2. Hmm. Point taken. I’m the type of person who tries to write something in the modern era, but I always end up doing something stupid to it.

    Such as..

    “Buildings… grey sidewalk… metal.. plastic.. random person here, dog th- OH MY GOSH; A BRIGHTLY COLOURED LONG JAWED EIGHT EYED MAN EATING BIRD WOULD LOOK GREAT THERE!”

    I lost the “keeping it real” portion of my brain… =w=;;

    By the way; would you like getting acquainted on facebook? (If you have one, that is, or would not mind my in-your-face-ness constantly)

    October 2, 2011 at 11:22 pm

    • I really want to start experimenting with my writing and write things that are typically out of the ordinary for me. Unfortunately I am one of the few people in this world without a facebook. I keep telling my friends that I will make one but I just never get to it.

      October 4, 2011 at 10:19 pm

      • Yes; outside the comfort zone is a good place to be, especially when it’s fiction that’s written just for fun.

        Darn; yes well, I shall now become one of those people that badger you about getting a facebook! (And did you know that people that are 100 years old can’t sign up? *shot for stupidity*)

        October 5, 2011 at 12:00 am

  3. AMAZING imagery and diction in this piece. Like wow. I’m just blown away by how good this. You are honestly an amazing writer.

    October 2, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    • Really? I’m flattered :>

      Personally; I think things like this get me shown to the school councilor if it get into the light…

      That and waiting for the bus in the cold brings out the need to make my characters suffer with me >_>

      I think that you are a superior writer, since the only reason I have interesting imagery is because I make it up as I go along instead of limiting myself to (in your case) the modern example.

      October 2, 2011 at 6:44 pm

      • I have to say since I write somewhat dark things at times, I get crazy looks when I show people or ask them to read it. I personally think it makes stories much more interesting if it’s not all happy and sugary with all these happy things in it. Twists are nice 🙂

        I do think that since I restrict myself to a certain setting that I am cutting off some of the stories I could be writing just because I feel I’m not comfortable writing in some settings. I mean you write in some settings that I could never imagine writing but it works.

        October 2, 2011 at 7:08 pm

Leave a Reply

