Let's all be random, shall we?

Reason


I found this while going though all my old files, and was all; Hey! This wasn’t posted here! WAAAAT? So, here it is..

(On a different note, I really need to think happy thoughts, THINK HAPPY THOUGHTS DARN YOU.)

I couldn’t find a good title for this little tidbit… what should I do? HAELP.

Reason

She sat in her plush, overstuffed seat, curled in onto herself into a depressed ball, slowly counting the seconds that gone by, watching the clock’s hand move with a resounding click. Other than that, the silence was absolute, and nothing but the clock challenged it. Silken raven hair fell across her face, but it was paid little heed, the room too dark, too devoid of anything animated. Oh, how she wanted to step outside the cage, outside of the walls that surrounded her!

But she won’t, she can’t for her brother’s sake, who sacrificed so much to keep her from the plotting royals who would circle her like a pack of starved wolves, who himself had plunged headfirst into that flock of decorated vultures, waiting to rip your throat out.

Even if she missed seeing the ocean, even if she missed feeling the wind on her face, missed the sound of waves crashing against jagged rocks, missed smelling the fields of wildflowers that grew around their old estate, she would bear it all, so his sacrifice would not be in vain.

She wanted to run outside and scream “I’m here! I’m alive!” just so she could see the deep pools of obsidian again, the orbs’ darkness a much preferred alternative to the black of the room.

She was selfish, so, so selfish. She didn’t care that people will die if she was discovered; all she wanted was to leap into the arms of the brother that cared for her so many years alone.

But she won’t.

Because he told her to

Because Brother was always right.

=w= you see the need for happy thoughts?

~MayaYume

4 responses

  1. I find old stuff ALL the time when I’m going through files. It’s…bittersweet happy which is alright with me ^.^ Since you know I’m like queen of depressing stories. It’s a lot like something I would write actually. I could feel her pain though, the internal battle of obeying her brother and wanting to live her childhood (I’m assuming).

    November 16, 2011 at 3:51 pm

    • I know, it’s great to see pieces from a long time ago that still sound nice. Yup, depressing stories are really sad, but always seem to be the best ones. (Happy endings are overrated…)

      I did want to convey sort of a nostalgic feeling. And instead of obedience and freedom, I think it was more of something like obedience and selfishness… (Or was I? Hmm…)
      Oh Queen of bittersweet, lend me an idea? We’re doing something for school and I can’t come up with any good ideas for a story under 5000 words >_>

      November 16, 2011 at 4:38 pm

      • I’m beginning to notice that when I start writing a story, I usually automatically think of a depressing ending. Happy endings are always a spur of the moment deal for me.

        Now that I think about it, it would be more along the lines of obedience and selfishness because her selfishness is deriving from her yearning her childhood. Lol as if I wrote it, I think I am thinking to deeply about the matter ^.^

        Uhm lately I’ve really been into internal battle within a character which would be easy yet would have enough room for development for a story under 5000 words. So there’s one option. Then there’s always the classic love stories gone wrong (my specialty~) with the bittersweet ending. Or you could do a lighter story, one with some humor and maybe express some life listen. Or a darker story where a character is dealing with a loss of some sort, maybe a loved one or their innocence, something along those lines. It really depends what you are in the mood to write,

        November 16, 2011 at 5:09 pm

      • *deep contemplation*

        *tosses arms up in the air* I GOT IT! Thank you! *insert odd happydance here*

        At least you think of an ending… Mine just keep going until they render me braindead. Depressing endings are usually the marks of a good show and/or story (in my opinion, anyway) since sometimes it seems that people only create good characters to kill them off later. =w=;;

        Haha, thinking deeply is a good thing, unless taking science tests. I have yet to realize that teachers don’t give trick questions >_>

        Again, thanks, you’ve solved my panic mode.

        November 16, 2011 at 7:10 pm

Leave a Reply

